top of page
Ashtanga Yoga: Benvenuti
Ashtanga Yoga: Testo


Method and Tradition

Ashtanga yoga was codified and popularized by K. Pattabhi Jois, student of Sri Krishnamacharya, in the early twentieth century, as the modern form of traditional classical Indian yoga. Heir of the Ashtanga lineage is now paramaguru Sharath Jois, grandson and pupil of Guruji.

Ashtanga means eight limbs/parts (yama, niyama, asana, pranayama, pratyahara, dharana, dhyana, samadhi) of a whole of which physical practice (asana) is a part.

It's a dynamic practice consisting of the unchanged repetition of an established sequence of positions (Primary Series, Intermediate Series, Advanced Series A, B, C and D).

Through the synchronization of breath and movement and connecting the asanas with a set of movements like the pearls of a mala (vinyasa), the focus of the gaze in a specific point (drishti), the use of bandhas ("body locks") and ujjayi breathing, ashtanga vinyasa yoga brings the attention inward (pratyahara) and leads to a real meditation moving through the body.

Ashtanga Yoga: Su di me

"Yoga is an internal practice. The rest is just a circus"

K.Pattabhi Jois

Ashtanga Yoga: Citazione
bottom of page